Frank Lloyd’s blog

Art, architecture and the people that I know.

Road Trip Art

leave a comment »

I needed to get away from the Art World. I thought I would take a drive out to the Northern California coast, and clear my head. For me, a road trip is some kind of active meditation on the landscape. The open road along Highway 1 is spectacular. That’s well known.  The appeal is the rugged cliffs, the way that the meadows meet the forest, and the expanse of wind-swept rocks and sea. Turning inland, I crossed over the Russian River, and through some quaint and picturesque towns. Most were established in the late 19th century, and seemed to have been built by lumber mills, agriculture, and fishing. I felt like I was very far away from the Big City Art World. I slowed down to let traffic by, and enjoyed the bucolic landscape. When I looked up, there was a sign on an old school house: Site of Running Fence, dedicated by Christo and Jean Claude. We’re never very far from Art. Are we?

Written by Frank Lloyd

September 5, 2009 at 11:44 pm

Posted in Art

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers