Frank Lloyd’s blog

Art, architecture and the people that I know.

MOCA: The Curator Speaks

leave a comment »

For anyone who has been following contemporary art, the crisis at the Museum of Contemporary Art was a compelling story.  I tracked the unfolding events during the late fall and early winter of 2008, by staying tuned to the excellent coverage in the Los Angeles Times, their site Culture Monster, and the constant commentary provided by many blogs. I posted some of my reactions with links here and here.

Always at the forefront of the story was Tyler Green’s Modern Art Notes, and yesterday he provided something of great interest again: an interview with Paul Schimmel, Chief Curator at MOCA. It’s a welcome look from a curatorial vantage point, following the huge administrative and funding changes. In late January, I was invited to a community meeting at MOCA, to hear and understand the transition, with new CEO Charles Young. I want to see MOCA succeed.

I am looking forward to part two of this interview with Paul Schimmel. Just as I believe in listening to the words of the artist, I think there is no substitute for hearing directly from the curators. I went to LACMA last Saturday for the curator’s walk-through with Stephanie Barron of her Two Germanys show. There is no substitute for a tour of an exhibit with the principal curator. Art lovers should take advantage of any opportunity to hear things directly from a major curator.

Written by Frank Lloyd

March 13, 2009 at 3:30 am

Posted in Art, Museums

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

