Frank Lloyd’s blog

Art, architecture and the people that I know.

Top Ten Reasons to see the Loops

with 4 comments


Today as I drove to work, I was in a David Letterman frame of mind, I guess. I started to think of our current show, and just listing, Letterman-style, the reasons to come and see it. Sure, every art dealer wants you to come see their show—and buy something. But this is a truly unprecedented exhibit: none of the Loops are for sale.  We just want people to see them.  So here’s my list of the top ten reasons to see the Loops, done in true Letterman fashion, reverse order:

10. They are 41 years old.

9. See these now, before you see them next year at the Getty and the Museum of  Contemporary Art San Diego.

8. See them and watch them change with the light during the day.

7. See a museum quality show that anticipates next year’s Pacific Standard Time initiative.

6. Marvel at an exhibition that a Getty Conservation Institute researcher called “a real pleasure…magnificent”.

5. See works by an artist that Ed Moses calls “a genius”.

4. Understand why yesterday’s Getty Research Institute Senior Associate called the show “historic”.

3. Marvel at the sequencing of the pieces within the gallery space.

2. See the phenomenal reflections of atmospheric color on the wall.

1. Experience a visual feast of pure sensual color.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’ve got me convinced! I wish the show was up long enough for us to see it! Dan & I will be in town post-Christmas. We’ll come say hi, even if the Loops aren’t on view 🙂 I love your post about Craig’s water wall piece, too. Fascinating!

    Ellie

    November 7, 2010 at 12:29 am

  2. Thanks, Ellie. The water reflection piece must have been great, I wish I had seen it. The show included Robert Irwin, Larry Bell and Peter Alexander. The little square format catalog is a wonderful resource, but the works are not photographed…so we’ll never know. I wish you and Dan were here!

    Frank

    November 7, 2010 at 1:25 am

  3. I wish I could come see this, it looks very interesting. Hope all is well, you were missed in September, maybe next year I can talk the siblings into coming to CA. -much love.

    Jeannine

    November 7, 2010 at 2:58 am

  4. Frank-

    Just amazing. I wish I could come and see them. I remember the first time I saw a Rothko in person. Words could not express the experience. I have a feeling that these pieces would have the same effect…

    Great job.

    angela cooper

    November 7, 2010 at 12:50 pm


Leave a comment