Frank Lloyd’s blog

Art, architecture and the people that I know.

International Relations

with one comment

Today I talked by phone to a consultant.  One of the topics was the variety of exhibitions at the gallery. As I look back on the shows, I can see differences in scale and medium, as well as the more obvious variety of individual artists. But one big thing stands out: it is the international scope of the ceramics exhibitions.  Over the past 15 years, I’ve brought ceramics to Los Angeles from several countries: Georges Jeanclos from France, Jennifer Lee from England (though she is truly Scottish), Wouter Dam from Holland, Gustavo Pérez from Mexico and Goro Suzuki from Japan.

Last Friday, two of those artists—Gustavo Pérez and Goro Suzuki—met for the first time.  Just before the opening, I introduced Suzuki to Pérez, and they had a brief conversation. Gustavo Pérez was extremely pleased to meet Suzuki, an artist that he greatly admires.  I stood back and looked at the two of them, and realized how proud I was to have both of them represented at the gallery.

Someday I’ll be able to count a few accomplishments of the many years of the gallery.  I expect that international exhibits will be high on the list.  Showing and placing the work of major talents from other countries has been an education for me, and an opportunity to expand my worldview.   If there are intangible benefits from running an art gallery, this has got to be one of the best.

Written by Frank Lloyd

March 24, 2011 at 1:13 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just had the pleasure of meeting and watching Gustavo Perez working at NCECA. Watching him work brought back memories of my years working with Voulkos. He is an artist that is worthy of your gallery. You do keep the finest company. Hope life is treating you well.

    Michael Groves

    March 31, 2015 at 11:34 pm


Leave a Reply

