Frank Lloyd’s blog

Art, architecture and the people that I know.

100,000

with 5 comments

The blog reached an important milestone this week – it has now been viewed over 100,000 times since I began writing it in 2008!  I started this blog with the intention to write about art, architecture, and the people that I know. In the five years I’ve been writing, it has served as a platform for me to share my thoughts on contemporary art.

Robert Hudson and Richard Shaw_Stinson Beach Studio_1971 copyI like to use the blog to provide behind-the scenes access to the gallery, as well as talk about my relationships with artists, critics and other gallerists. My gallery has a substantial collection of archival images – including historical photographs of artists, installations, and other art ephemera – which many art enthusiasts don’t have access to. It’s fun to share these images with the public, who might not have a chance to see them otherwise. The picture you see at left is of Richard Shaw and Robert Hudson in their Stinson Beach studio, which they shared during the early 1970s.

Part of the mission of my gallery is to provide free arts programming and educational resources to visitors, and I see this blog as an important part of that. It’s not always possible for everyone to come to our gallery walk-throughs, artist conversations, and classes in person, so it’s important to me that I do my best to make this content available online. I hope that this blog serves as another link to the larger arts community in Los Angeles. After all, my passion for the world of art is what got me started in this business, and I want to share that passion with others.

Written by Frank Lloyd

June 7, 2013 at 9:08 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your passion for the Arts has become a gift to artists , collectors and those who simply appreciate
    the insights you provide by way of this blog.

    Alan Mandell

    June 7, 2013 at 9:19 pm

  2. Fantastic photograph and thank you so much for sharing your amazing knowledge and your photo archive with us all. I love reading your Blog.

    Jennifer Lee

    June 7, 2013 at 9:41 pm

  3. It’s great to have a following, and an appreciative audience. The blog is meant to be one part of the gallery’s mission–to inform, engage and explore. Thanks for the comments, they are much appreicated.

    Frank Lloyd

    June 7, 2013 at 10:03 pm

  4. Congratulations Frank! It’s a great blog – I always look forward to reading it.

    Jake Tilson

    June 8, 2013 at 8:49 am

  5. […] via […]

    South Willard | News

    July 29, 2013 at 6:29 am


Leave a Reply

